Citizens can make application for a license to carry a concealed weapon after meeting the educational and training requirements.
Applicants must provide a valid ID and be a resident of Monroe County or an adjacent county for 30 days.
Applicant must complete an application which can be obtained at the Monroe Co. Sheriff’s Office or online and attach a color photo (Photos can be taken at the Sheriff’s Office for a fee of $8.00 that's included in the fees) and a Certificate of Competency or prior equivalent documentation.
The cost of the CCW Permit is $75.00 for a new permit and $58.00 for a renewal. You can save $8.00 by supplying your own photo (Must have been taken in the last 30 days and Passport Size).
CCW Permits applications are accepted Tuesday thru Friday from 9:00 to 3:30 by appointment only.
ATTENTION:(During the COVID 19 Pandemic hours are limited and all paperwork needs to be emailed or faxed into our office before making an appointment since we are going paperless)
To call for an appointment contact Betty Rousenberg Monday thru Friday between for 8 AM & 4 PM at 740-472-1612, Opt 9.
Additional information can be obtained at the Ohio Attorney General’s website http://www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov.
Click the tab below and print and either email or fax back into our office.
Email Betty Rousenberg at: firstname.lastname@example.org
or fax (740) 472-5132
Governor signs HB 614: Ohio CHLs Extended to June 30, 2021
4:15PM THURSDAY, OCTOBER 01, 2020
On Thursday, Oct. 1, 2020, Ohio Governor DeWine signed House Bill 614, with an amendment to extend Concealed Handgun License (CHL) expiration dates. The bill includes an emergency provision, which means that the CHL extensions go into effect immediately.
This brings desperately needed relief to thousands of Ohioans who face long wait times to apply for or renew licenses.
Here's what this law change means if you have an Ohio Concealed Handgun License:
If your license is scheduled to expire between March 9, 2020 and June 30, 2021, the expiration date is extended by 90 days or until June 30, 2021, whichever is later.
Until June 30, 2021, you can apply for a license or renew a license at ANY sheriff office in Ohio. You are not limited to your home county or an adjacent county.